Thouless Theoretical Physics Mini-workshop: Super-matters and Novel Transports


Time: Oct. 19 (Friday)-20 (Saturday), 2007
Place: Room 104, New Physics Building,
National Taiwan University

Professor David J. Thouless is a world-renowned physicist. He has made important contributions to nuclear physics, statistical mechanics, quantum transports, superfluids and supersolids. He is visiting Taiwan between Oct. 05 and Oct. 29, 2007. Therefore, the purpose of this Mini-workshop is primarily to bring together theoretical scientists to present latest results and also discuss new developments in the fields of (1) superfluids, superconductors, and supersolids, as well as (2) topological phases and novel transports.

Professor Thouless will give two lectures in this Miniworkshop. In addition, he will give a colloquium titled "Topological quantum numbers and phase transitions in matter" in Physics Department, National Taiwan University on Oct. 16 (Tuesday; 14:20-15:30 pm), 2007.

Program (Tentative):
October 19 (Friday)
09:30-10:00 am  Registration and Tea
Chair: Chong-Der Hu (NTU)
10:00-11:00 am: David Thouless (Washington U., Seattle)
11:00-11:50 am: Sungkit Yip (Academia Sinica)
11:50-12:40 am: Daw-Wei Wang (NTHU)
Lunch break
Chair: Ching-Ray Chang (NTU)
14:00-15:00 pm: Chang-Chyi Tsuei (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center)
15:00-15:50 pm: Wen-Chin Wu (NTNU)
Tea Break
16:20-17:00 pm: Anders Sandvik (Boston U.)
17:00-17:50 pm: Ying-Jer Kao (NTU)

October 20 (Saturday)
09:30-10:10 am   Registration and Tea
Chair: Ming-Che Chang (NTNU)
10:00-10:50 am: Ching-Ray Chang (NTU)
10:50-11:40 am: Sheng-Qing Shen (Hong Kong Univ.)
11:40-12:30 am: Guang-Yu Guo (NTU)

Chair: Guang-Yu Guo (NTU)
14:00-15:00 pm: Konstantin Yu Bliokh (National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine)
15:00-15:50 pm:  Ming-Che Chang (NTNU)
15:50-16:30 pm:  David Thouless (Washington U., Seattle)

Organized by
Guang-Yu Guo (NTU), Chong-Der Hu (NTU), Ming-Che Chang (NTNU)

Sponsored by
Center for Theoretical Sciences, National Taiwan University
National Science Council
National Center for Theoretical Sciences